Block & Barrel Deli

I love branching out and trying new things when it comes to food. However, once I find something I like at a restaurant, it’s hard for me to deviate from what I know is good. At Sheila C’s, I get the bacon cheeseburger. At Zoe’s, the Greek salad with chicken. At Moe’s, the Homewrecker with steak. Et cetera.

At Block & Barrel, I have no regular order except “whatever you think I should try this time”. And every time, it’s great.

Mr. Kip Snyder whips something up without a bit of hesitation, like he was waiting on me to say that. He makes great sandwiches and I trust his keen judgment on what I’m craving each time I walk in. He’s a deli guru and he has never let me down.

The meat and cheese are freshly sliced as soon as you order, which makes a big difference in flavor. You have a wide array of choices for bread, condiments, toppings, and sides with your sandwich or wrap.

The environment reminds me of the good ol’ days before restaurants put flat screen TVs on every wall and corner with news or sports blaring. There’s just a stereo in the corner playing classic rock on the radio.

Kip has decorated with images of Elvis , James Dean, classic Coke ads, and Auburn football memorabilia. All the seating is booth-style, even the two-person tables, which I like.

The only thing I don’t like about Block & Barrel is that it’s not on my part of town, or else I’d eat there more often. It’s down Glenn between the airport and Duck Samford Park.

The sandwiches are great, the environment is simple and nostalgic, and the service is fast. You can also walk away full and satisfied for under $10 easily, which is hard to do these days.

But if that doesn’t convince you, Auburn locals frequent this place, which is the best indication that it’s worth a try.

Block & Barrel Deli’s Facebook page

Leave a comment

Filed under restaurant reviews

Leave a Reply

